Advisory bodies

Wisconsin Sea Grant Advisory Council

The council is appointed by the University of Wisconsin-Madison chancellor. Consisting of state leaders from academia; state, local and tribal government; industry; and the public, the council brings a wide variety of viewpoints to the program and helps ensure the program’s accountability to Sea Grant constituencies. The council meets two to three times a year. Council members are also always invited to attend research pre-proposal and proposal review panel meetings.

Members include:

Christy Remucal (ex-officio), interim director, UW Sea Grant, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Todd Ambs, chair, Great Lakes Commission, and retired deputy secretary, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison, Wis.

Thomas J. Blewett, retired program director, Community, Natural Resource and Economic Development, University of Wisconsin Cooperative Extension, Madison, Wis.

Sharon Cook, owner of Sharon D. Cook, LLC, Milwaukee

Deb DeLuca, executive director, Duluth Seaway Port Authority, Duluth, Minn.

Michael Friis, program manager, Wisconsin Coastal Management Program, Madison, Wis.

Russell Green, Great Lakes regional coordinator, Wisconsin Shipwreck Coast National Marine Sanctuary, Sheboygan, Wis. 

H. J. (Bud) Harris, professor emeritus, Natural and Applied Sciences, University of Wisconsin-Green Bay

Al House, former president, Apostle Islands Sport Fisherman’s Association, Washburn, Wis.

J. Val Klump, former senior director and associate dean of research, School of Freshwater Sciences, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Madelyn Leopold, private landowner and retired attorney, Madison, Wis. 

Lori Tate, section chief, Fisheries Management Bureau, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison, Wis. 

Dreux Watermolen, section chief, Analysis Services, Bureau of Environmental Analysis and Sustainability, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison, Wis.

Larry Wawronowicz (chair), retired natural resource director, Lac du Flambeau Band of Lake Superior Chippewa Indians, Lac du Flambeau, Wis.


Wisconsin Sea Grant Committee on Outreach and Education 

This group provides insights and guidance on the outreach, education and communications efforts of the Wisconsin Sea Grant Program.

Members include:

Kate Angel federal consistency and coastal hazards coordinator, Wisconsin Coastal Management Program, Madison

June Breneman communications, University of Minnesota Duluth, Duluth

Gene Clark retired coastal engineer, Iola 

Brenda Coley co-executive director, Milwaukee Water Commons, Milwaukee 

Bart De Stasio professor, Lawrence University, Appleton

Meg Domroese director of programs and impact, Gathering Waters, Madison

Steve Galarneau director of Office of Great Waters, Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, Madison 

Scott Galetka Bayfield County land records administrator, Washburn

Jim Giglierano geographic information officer, Wisconsin Department of Administration, Madison

Tricia Gorby director, Natural Resources Institute, Division of Extension, University of Wisconsin-Madison, Madison  

Lee Haasch owner, Haasch Guide Service, Algoma

Vicky Harris coordinator, Wisconsin Clean Marina Program, De Pere

Charlie Henriksen Henriksen Fisheries, Sister Bay 

Jody Henseler middle-school educator, Manitowoc 

Tina Kakuske director, Door County Library, Sturgeon Bay  

Edith Leoso tribal historical preservation officer, Bad River Band of  Lake Superior Chippewa Tribe, Odanah

Paula Maday former public information officer, Great Lakes Indian Fish and Wildlife Commission, Odanah

Victoria Ryberg environmental education consultant, Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction, Madison

Anne Sayers secretary designee, Wisconsin Department of Tourism, Madison

Jason Serck City of Superior planning and port director, Superior 

Bill West president, Blue Iris Fish Farm, Black Creek

Pat Wilborn (Aquaculture), Portfish Ltd., Port Washington